Witch House Repost with New Dialogue

Hi Internet People,

Last week I posted some Witchhouse Writing and this week I wrote up some dialogue. Since it doesn’t really make sense without the scene I wrote last week I’m posting that with the new stuff underneath it. You can skip ahead if you’ve already read the setup part. The new stuff starts with the dialogue. I also totally wound up adding in a webseries reference, I just thought it fit with what I plan to do later on.

The room was nice enough, a bit smaller than she had anticipated, but Ellery supposed she shouldn’t really complain. Campus housing had been exceptionally limited for graduate students and LC House had been more than willing to rent her a room far below the standard rate. Her decision to attend Arkham University had been motivated by her desire to study the rich history of the area and she had been hoping the house would be a bit, well, older. It actually resembled the sort of place she’d expect to see in an Ikea catalogue. The room was a sort of an off white shade, not exactly eggshell, but the sort of color you’d expect in a model home. Her room was one of 6. Three on the first floor, two on the second, and the sixth alone on the top floor, which is the room she had been placed in. The landlady had apologized a number of times for isolating her up on the third floor, but she’d been overwhelmed with renters and had only decided to rent out the top room as a last resort.

Ellery didn’t see anything wrong with the room; it even had its own private bathroom. Nothing fancy, but she’d be the only one who wouldn’t have to share. It had a small desk with a battered chair that looked as though it had been the companion of many a student over the years, a bed on a slim metal frame, and a night table, which sported a fresh coat of varnish. She’d been told the upper room had only one small window in the bedroom, which meant that natural light was limited. With all the texts she’d be bringing in for her research Ellery had actually appreciated the minor inconvenience of limited sunlight. She’d brought enough lamps to keep the room well lit and they’d do far less damage to the books than sunlight would. After carting all of her boxes up the two flights of stairs, with a bit of help from the son of the landlady, Ellery was laying on her freshly made bed taking in her new surroundings. She was startled by the sound of a knock at the door, but she was happily surprised to find her friend Anna standing in the doorframe holding an allen wrench and a bottle of wine.

“Oh god I love you.”

“You’re totally talking to the wine aren’t you El?”

“I mean I love you too, but right now I definitely love that bottle more.”

“If I didn’t know you so well I’d totally think you were an alcoholic.”

“Same goes to you woman with the wine. Do you have a corkscrew for that or are we going to try and use the power of Ikea to get it open?”

“Screw top my friend, screw top”

With that Anna swiftly twisted the cap off of the bottle and thrust it dramatically into Ellery’s open hand.

“Should I give a speech? Formally claim this place as mine or something?”

“Maybe just a nice cheers and we get to putting that bookcase together?”

“Cheers!”

After an hour and a half of drinking and cursing, the two women stood up and positioned the newly built piece of furniture against the wall.

“Is that middle shelf even?” Anna asked as she titled her head slightly to the left.

Ellery looked at it and closed one eye, in a halfhearted attempt to see if the shelf was level.

“Honestly as long as it holds books I don’t care. If I have to look at those directions one more time I’m going to turn that thing into a nice bonfire and call it a night.”

“Maybe don’t put that ‘History of Arkham’ book on it, I’m not sure it’s sturdy enough for that much bulk.”

“I’m not even sure that bookcase is sturdy enough for that book. The guy who wrote it seriously must have been paid by the word. I mean I love history, but do I need to know the number of clouds floating above the church on the day the bishop came to christen the new alter, nope not really.”

“This is why I couldn’t do what you do. I’d much rather examine how people behave instead of what they write about. Oh speaking of behavior, did you sign the form that says I can record you?”

“I mean the camera is already on, I set it up when I set up my laptop.”

“Wait you were recording this? This totally doesn’t count for the study, we haven’t even started classes yet.”

“I wanted to make sure it worked. Think of this as a test run and hey, you’re the only one who’s going to watch this thing, you can just make a note that my subject video starts at hour two or whatever. And I have the form, it’s with my stuff for the department. Just remind me to give it to you before you leave.”

“I’ll remember, my advisor has been asking about them all week. Seriously the semester hasn’t even started and he’s freaking out that I won’t get the releases in. It’s not like he didn’t already approve the project.”

“I’m sure he just wants his ducks in a row. We can grab coffee and swing by campus tomorrow to drop everything off. I’ll even pay since you brought the wine.”

“I knew that bottle would come in handy. Hey, since your laptop’s up why don’t we check out that series with the psychiatrist and the supernatural people?”

“Yes! I’ll turn off the camera and we can totally binge watch. You’re going to love it!”

Let me know what you think, I’m really trying to build the story and I’ll go back and do more editing later.

Find me on Twitter, @kleffnotes, on my kleffnotes YouTube channel, I write for The Nerdy Girl Express and run their Snapchat, thenerdygirlexp, and I post recipes on the iZombie Support Group site.

Talk to ya tomorrow,

Katherine

One thought on “Witch House Repost with New Dialogue

Leave a Reply

