Should I Watch Annabelle?

Hi Internet People,

This is more a poll I guess than a regular post, but I need your help. On Friday I watched The Conjuring because my friend loaned it to me and based on the amount of Annabelle in it I keep thinking I should attempt to watch it. Now I’m saying attempt for a reason there. I’m actually terrified of the idea of that movie.

A little over a year ago on The Nerdy Girl Express I mentioned that I hate two thing in this world more than anything else, ventriloquist dummies and creepy looking dolls. I’m giving the dolls aspect a bit of a preface because I have owned/do own a couple of dolls still. One is an American Girl doll that I am totally never getting rid of because I desperately wanted one for so long as a kid and the other is a cloth doll I got in middle school at Hot Topic. Neither of them weird me out, but porcelain dolls, those things just seem menacing.

Annabelle in the movie seems like a combination of these two terrible things, which just seems unfair. I mean they’ve literally birthed a thing that is like the spawn of my two least favorite things and given it a movie. The real Annabelle isn’t even that creepy looking, she’s just a Raggedy Ann doll with a different name. They showed the doll on Mysteries at the Museum, seriously still creepy, but at least mildly more cuddly looking in real life. The Conjuring actually had way more of her in it than I was anticipating and since I already had to put up with her once, I’m thinking I should just go full hog and watch the movie specifically devoted to her.

If you’ve seen it can you let me now what you thought so I have an idea of what to expect? If I watch it I’m totally going to live tweet it because I can’t suffer that panic inducing mess alone. I would loss my mind if I did. Okay, probably not, but I would still be super freaked out. Let me know what you think here in the comments or on Twitter, @kleffnotes.

Find me on my kleffnotes YouTube channel, I write for The Nerdy Girl Express and run their Snapchat, thenerdygirlexp, and I post recipes on the iZombie Support Group site.

Talk to ya tomorrow,

Katherine

Leave a Reply

