A Pause on The Witch House

Hi Internet People,

This week with the holidays I haven’t really been thinking about Witch House stuff. I know I should be focusing a bit more, but there’s a lot going on and I’m enjoying the time with my family and the chance to just sort of catch up on things. I thought that instead this week I would just talk a bit about H.P. Lovecraft things.

Now I haven’t always been into Lovecraft, it wasn’t until I got into college and wound up becoming part of a Call of Cthulhu gaming group. I had read a few things inspired by Lovecraft and while I don’t entirely remember which story, I do know that I had come across some of his stuff in a collection of short stories at one point. When I started playing Call of Cthulhu I decided to research more of the universe and read up on some of the things my group was encountering. I read short stories online and coincidentally Vaginal Fantasy, the online book club I am woefully behind on currently, was slated to read Cthulhurotica. I read that too, honestly it’s pretty tame, and looked more into Lovecraft and the stories that inspired that book.

The more I read the more I thought some of the stories could be easily adapted, I know some already have been and I have heard that there is a tv show in the works somewhere. When I started watching webseries I found out that there were many inspired by literature, which started me thinking. Of all the stories I had read Dreams in the Witch House seemed like a natural choice for a webseries adaptation. Many of his other stories involve far too many sets and way too many physical monsters. I do love monsters, but I couldn’t think of how you could create them on a webseries budget. Witch House could happen primarily through a narrator and it would be so easy to include a webcam and a reason for someone to be recording. I really need to get to working on it more solidly in the new year.

Find me on Twitter, @kleffnotes, on my kleffnotes YouTube channel, I write for The Nerdy Girl Express and run their Snapchat, thenerdygirlexp, and I post recipes on the iZombie Support Group site.

Talk to ya tomorrow,

Katherine

Leave a Reply

