Witch House Week 1

Hi Internet People,

This is the first week of me actively writing something every Friday. I shouldn’t make excuses, but I have been doing a lot of work for NGE, lots of reviewing and recapping, so I’ve been a little slammed. I still want to make sure that I actually do some writing of my own stuff though. I’ve already mentioned that the focus of the webseries, or whatever it winds up being, is going to be related to The Dreams in the Witch House by H.P. Lovecraft. While I love reading things that include Cthulhu, I even have a glow in the dark Cthulhu Funko Pop in my room. If you watch my recent videos you might see it on the far right side of my Funko shelves, it’s blocked a lot of time by my body, but sometimes it shows up.

Anyway, even though I love Cthulhu as a figure, I am drawn to the story within Witch House. The main character is living in a home that was once the house of a mysterious and deadly witch. While living there he seems to go insane, he has intense dreams, believes he’s sleepwalking, and a number of strange events occur throughout the story as the events build to the final climax. What I can’t settle on yet is if I want what I’m working on to start after this moment and make the original story part of the history or if I want to use it inspire what my character experiences more closely. I have already mentioned that I plan to make the main character a woman instead of a man and as my current plan is to make it a webseries eventually, I want to limit what the character sees. In the story there are trips to mysterious realms and intense moments that could only be recreated with some really expensive CGI.

My loose plan is to have the character relate her dreams of mysterious places to the camera, vlog style. I also think making her a graduate student would work well. My current plan is to have her be recording herself for a friend’s psychology study. While my main character is living in this house as a way to immerse herself in the history she is studying for her thesis, the videos would be a way to help out a friend. I want to have the friend show up at some point to check data and possibly to tie up the show. I think it would only work as a one off series, possibly connected to other series in the same universe, but this character would only exist in this one show. If you haven’t read this story getting rid of the character won’t make sense exactly, but if you have read it, you’ll understand why the character would only exist for one run. Okay, this is more planning and not real writing, but I’m still working through what I want to do. I also haven’t felt super creative so I just wanted to get some thoughts on paper, well screen I guess.

Let me know what you think. You can find me on Twitter, @kleffnotes, on my kleffnotes YouTube channel, I write for The Nerdy Girl Express and I run their Snapchat, thenerdygirlexp, and I post recipes on the iZombie Support Group site.

Talk to ya tomorrow,

Katherine

Leave a Reply

