It’s Banned Book Week!

Hi Internet People,

It’s one of my favorite holidays of the year, Banned Book Week! This week is dedicated to celebrating those books that have found themselves censored due to their content. A number of my favorite books are banned in a variety of places. This week you can feel like a dangerous criminal and read anything that you can get your hands on to fight censorship.

For suggestions on how to celebrate the week you can check out the American Library Association’s website. My personal suggestion is to read over their many lists of most challenged books and find one that you’ve never read before. I personally suggest The Perks of Being a Wallflower and The Curious Case of the Dog in the Night-Time. The also have a virtual read-out challenge where you make a video about a banned/challenged book that has meant a lot to you. There are certain criteria and you can find all of them here.

I also think this is a perfect week to check out some online book clubs that I really enjoy. If you just want to watch awesome women chat about some cool books you should check out Vaginal Fantasy. Felicia Day, Veronica Belmont, Bonnie Burton, and Kiala Kazebee talk about a variety of books, many of which are romance, but not all the time. My favorite book was Call of Cthulhu. If you like shorter videos that cover more diverse book topics you should check out Slutty Book Club. The channel just started posting new videos after a long hiatus and they’re all about Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

Have a wonderful banned book week and I hope you find something wonderful to read!

Find me on Twitter, @kleffnotes, on my kleffnotes YouTube channel, I write for The Nerdy Girl Express and run their Snapchat, thenerdygirlexp, and I post recipes on the iZombie Support Group site.

Talk to ya tomorrow,

Katherine

Leave a Reply

