Silas Orientation Week Fanfic Part 1

Hi Internet People,

I’ve been trying my hand at webseries related fanfic recently, you can thank Edgar Allan Poe’s Murder Mystery Dinner Party. Seriously you should check it out, it’s a great series. They are running a transmedia exercise with each episode and I have decided to write along. With Carmilla amping up the excitement for season three this week I had an idea for some Silas Orientation Week themed fanfic. I present “Silas Orientation Week Part 1.”

When I got the mail I found a yellowed envelope embossed with a peculiar seal. It had my name on the front, but strangely enough it didn’t have my address listed. Even though it seemed remarkably odd I decided to open it anyway. I was surprised to read “Dear Ms. Hudson, You have been accepted to become part of the prestigious Silas University.” I don’t really remember applying to anywhere named Silas University, but the details in the letter about my GPA and desire to study the history of witch trials in Europe was way too specific to be just some sort of form letter. When I showed the letter to my mom she didn’t seem surprised at all. In fact she remarked that she had received a letter at work the day before letting her know that her daughter had been accepted with a full scholarship, including travel, books, room and board, and a small stipend for any additional supplies I would need. I mean for absolutely free and I stipend I couldn’t really turn it down. We’d been trying to figure out how to pay for college, loans were always an option, but my mom had been hoping for some help. The other schools I had applied to had offered some great packages, but Silas was just too good to pass up.

According to the letter I would merely have to fill out the attached multiple choice card and place it in my mailbox. The card didn’t look like it had postage on it, but the letter itself had been odd so I guess maybe they have a deal worked out with the postal service. The very next day I found another letter from Silas in my mailbox, not sure how it got there so fast, but I really didn’t think about it too hard. This letter stated that I wouldn’t need to worry about books or school supplies before classes started because my transition to college life would be overseen by a counselor from the Corvae Corporation. I’d just need to pack clothes and any toiletries I found necessary. There was a lovely picture of a dorm and the caption said that all students would be provided with a fully furnished dorm so as to minimize the amount of baggage we would need to bring with us. They also listed a time and date that I would need to be dropped off at the airport to meet the Corvae Company jet, which would be transporting all the selected students from my area to Silas. I’d never been on a private jet before so this would be a brand new experience. My mom was wowed by the level of assistance that the university was providing for their students and she even went out and bought me a neck pillow for the flight. After a couple days of packing and preparing to leave I woke up bright and early on the 4th to get to the airport in plenty of time.

That’s part one everyone, I’ll have more up over the course of this week and possibly into next week.

You can find me on Twitter, @kleffnotes, on my kleffnotes YouTube channel, I write for The Nerdy Girl Express and I run their Snapchat, thenerdygirlexp, and I post recipes on the iZombie Support Group site.

Talk to ya tomorrow,

Katherine

Leave a Reply

