So Many Comics, It’s Wonderful!

Hi Internet People,

This Friday I made a trip to my comic book store and picked up a ton of stuff. I had a ten dollars off coupon, which always leads me to buy more than I really should. With DC Rebirth happening I’ve decided that for the first time I’m going to actually have a pull list. I have followed some comics, but I frequently wait for the graphic novel. Sadly for Bitch Planet I wanted to keep up on the individual comics, but missed a run of them so I’ll have to wait for the graphic novel. The downside is that the collected volumes don’t have all of the great additional content in them.

From my pull list I got Suicide Squad, Batgirl and the Birds of Prey, and Harley Quinn. Harley’s comic right now is hilariously morbid. Coney Island is full of zombies, but these zombies only exist because of alien tainted hot dogs. Oh and Poison Ivy just showed up with a weed whacker in a bowling alley so what’s not to love. I actually went to the comic book store to specifically find the third volume of The Wicked and The Divine. I just read the second volume and it ended on a huge cliffhanger. The third volume was done by all guest artists, which was really cool. We got to see more background for The Pantheon and this one ended on an even bigger cliffhanger! I just want to know where she is! Also I still totally want to do a Lucifer cosplay, that pompadour, that suit, so cool!

I picked up Rat Queens Volume One and absolutely loved it. I’ve heard so many good things, but this was the first time my comic book store had it in stock. I was cracking up so much when I read it. The Rat Queens were feisty and fiery, and their ability to knock back booze and drugs, yet still keep fighting was epic on so many levels. I also got the fourth volume of Lumberjanes. I love those characters and I’ve been trying to catch up with the comics. I really want to read the Gotham Academy/Lumberjanes crossover.

I have Batwoman: Elegy and DC Bombshells One and Two to read still, but I had ordered those a little bit ago and they just so happened to show up when I bought my other comics. I’m really excited to read these three, especially Batwoman because I already read the start of the story line that comes right after it. I love having time to read comics now, though my bank account might not be. I should check out the ones at my library again.

Find me on Twitter, @kleffnotes, on my kleffnotes YouTube channel, I write for The Nerdy Girl Express and I run their Snapchat, thenerdygirlexp, and I post recipes on the iZombie Support Group site.

Talk to ya tomorrow,

Katherine

Leave a Reply

