This Fangirl Loved Fangirl

Hi Internet People,

Yesterday I read all of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, I had been on a fangirl themed reading binge, and I was really excited to read this book. I’ve heard amazing things about Rainbow Rowell’s books and I decided that I would start delving into her work with Fangirl. I had actually planned to do this as a Fangirl Freakouts video review, but writing about it here seemed like it fit better with the theme of the book.

Fangirl focuses on Cath, a young woman starting her first year in college and finding herself dealing with a lot of changes. Her twin sister Wren has been pulling away from her and for the first time she feels like she is alone. Cath is living in a dorm with the loud and buxom Reagan and while she isn’t sure how to cope with college, she does know that she can find comfort in the internet. There Cath is a star, she’s the super well known Simon Snow fanfiction writer of Carry On, Simon. Thousands of people read her work, but the stress of keeping up with her fanfiction commitments as well as her school work isn’t the only thing she has to deal with. Cath finds herself trying to deal with a number of family issues and her own anxiety. The book not only has this main story, but shows the reader bits of Cath’s fanfiction as well as excerpts from the Simon Snow series. Rowell actually wound up writing another novel based on the Simon Snow characters she created for Fangirl, which I need to find right away.

I loved this book, seriously I read the entire thing in a few hours and I didn’t want to put it down. Cath’s character was wonderfully complex. She was going through so many life changes and watching her evolve throughout the course of the book was so wonderful. I cried with her when things went horribly wrong, I laughed with her when things were going well, and I even found myself loving the characters that she devoted her time to, even though I was only seeing glimpses of Simon and Baz. The book also showed characters coping with mental illnesses that often don’t get addressed in YA novels. I fell in love with these characters and I was rooting for them. The relationship between Cath and Levi was also interesting to read. Even though there were rocky moments it was heartwarming and sweet. I highly recommend this book, especially to anyone who fangirls out about anything. I just wish I had read it sooner.

You can find me on Twitter, @kleffnotes, on my kleffnotes YouTube channel, I write for The Nerdy Girl Express and run their Snapchat, thenerdygirlexp, and I post recipes on the iZombie Support Group site.

Talk to ya tomorrow,

Katherine

Leave a Reply

