I Had a Web Series Brainstorm!

Hi Internet People,

You remember a while back when I mentioned that I wanted to one day create a web series? Okay, you might not, so here’s the gist. I want to adapt the H.P. Lovecraft story “The Dreams in the Witch House” into a web series. I haven’t really worked out many of the details, but I want to switch the gender of the main character from male to female.

While I was at my new job training I randomly started thinking about the story and the series and got a brain wave. I know that one key point of a web series is having there be a reason for the show to be recording. For this version I’m thinking that the main character will be a first year grad student, probably Master’s program, who has moved into the alleged witch house because she is either researching the history of the building for her project or is researching the witch herself. She’ll be recording videos about her life for a friend, who is in a Ph.D program and compiling videos of students to see how they handle their first year.

I’m actually thinking this show could have just one main character with maybe one or two characters making appearances sporadically. I have another idea, but I don’t know if I want to share it because it will give away a key element I want to use for the witch and her familiar. This project should be a lot of fun, but I need to work on reading more scripts and knowing just what to do in order to create a well done story.

You can find me on Twitter, @kleffnotes, on my kleffnotes YouTube channel, I write for The Nerdy Girl Express and run their Snapchat, thenerdygirlexp, and I post recipes on the iZombie Support Group site.

Talk to ya tomorrow,

Katherine

Leave a Reply

