Beetlejuice, Beetlejuice, Beetlejuice The Animated Show!

Hi Internet People,

Last night at work I was pretty much completely alone in the store from 10:45 pm until 12:15 am. I had one customer, but he was in and out of the back room in less than ten minutes. Oh, the back room is our adult room and I think the guy was just looking for something quick to watch. Why he didn’t just get online I don’t know, but I’m going to stop digressing. I was trying to find something short to watch and remembered that the Beetlejuice dvd has three episodes of the Beetlejuice cartoon in the special features.

I used to love that show and would watch it on Cartoon Network whenever it was on. I actually watched the cartoon before I ever saw the movie, which confused me a bit when I did eventually watch the movie. In the cartoon Lydia and Beetlejuice are friends. She calls his name three times so that the two of them can hang out in the Netherworld or so he can spend time with her in the human world. The movie, as you probably know, is way different. Lydia actually becomes friends with two ghosts who want to keep living in their home even after death. Our title character in the original version is actually not a nice guy and definitely shouldn’t be trusted around young girls.

I loved the cartoon because it made being weird the norm. It was cool to be spooky and you could act like it was Halloween pretty much every day of the year. I used to watch The Addams Family cartoon too. That one had a similar vibe to it, being weird was cool and you should embrace your spookiness. I haven’t watched either of these shows in ages, but after watching Beetlejuice I’m going to see if I can find them online. I’m not sure if either is online anywhere so I might have to buy them. We shall see.

Find me on Twitter, @kleffnotes, on my kleffnotes YouTube channel, I write for The Nerdy Girl Express and run their Snapchat, thenerdygirlexp, and I post recipes on the iZombie Support Group site.

Talk to ya tomorrow,

Katherine

Leave a Reply

