iZombie Kitchen: Brain Salad on a Bagel

Hi Internet People,

Last night we finally had iZombie back in our lives and I got back to my iZombie kitchen to whip up some tasty brains. This week I present to you brain salad on a bagel, here’s the pic.

_20160322_162342

Okay, so this brain salad is really egg salad, but I thought that with Easter coming up on Sunday I’d give you a recipe to help use up those dyed eggs you might be making. Now first off you need to hard boil some eggs. I always forget how long you need to do this for, so here’s a quick how to. Put the eggs in a pot and cover them with water, put them on the burner and set it on high, with the lid on the pot. Once the water comes to a boil turn off the burner, but don’t remove the pot with the eggs. Leave it there and covered for 12 minutes. Once that’s done remove them from the water and let cool.

IMG_20160320_214012144

Now once they eggs are cool, I let them chill in the fridge for a few hours. I picked three eggs and peeled them. Then these three chosen eggs spent the night in a sealed tupperware container soaking in a mix of water and red food coloring. By the next day they were bright pink, perfect for brains.

IMG_20160321_193054951

I then took a paper towel and dried the three eggs a bit by wrapping the towel around them and squeezing very lightly. I then cut up the eggs into bite sized pieces and threw them into a larger bowl.

IMG_20160321_193508641

Next I added two large heaping spoonfuls of mayo, you can use miracle whip or whatever you prefer. I’d say total I added about roughly 3/4 of a cup.IMG_20160321_193540784

Then mix up the egg and mayo so it’s evenly combined.

IMG_20160321_193641220

Then add some mustard to taste.

IMG_20160321_193731188

Since this is a meal fit for a zombie, I added a dash of hot sauce.

IMG_20160321_193759835

You can add as much hot sauce as you want, but make sure you mix it all in.

IMG_20160321_193844650

Then I added one drop of pink food coloring to make the salad a bit brainier.

IMG_20160321_194137043

I let the mixture chill a bit, but you could totally eat it right after mixing it up. Here’s the finished sandwich again for you.

_20160322_162342

Let me know if you try this recipe, I’d love to see pics. You could add ketchup or extra hot sauce to make it a bit gorier. I’d also consider enjoying it with some of these Lay’s chips I found, fiery roasted habanero. Super spicy and super delicious.

If you want to see more of me you can find me on Twitter, @kleffnotes, on my kleffnotes YouTube channel, and I write for The Nerdy Girl Express. I also run their Snapchat, thenerdygirlexp. I also post all of my iZombie recipes on the iZombie Support Group site.

Talk to ya tomorrow,

Katherine

One thought on “iZombie Kitchen: Brain Salad on a Bagel

Leave a Reply

