Brain Cookies for Your Valentine

Hi Internet People,

This week for my iZombie brainy treat I made some quick and easy brain cookies. If you were on Twitter last night this is the pic you probably saw.

IMG_20160209_242205489

I thought with Valentine’s Day coming up that I would use some of the holiday stuff to my advantage. These are just sugar cookies, I used a bag mix because I have the worst luck with cookies, with red food coloring and red frosting. Seriously I normally burn cookies every time I make them, and not like a minor char, like I seriously turn them into charcoal briquettes. So this is the cookie mix I bought, it was super easy and only involved three ingredients.

IMG_20160208_220555659

Besides the mix you have to add three tablespoons of flour, a melted stick of butter or margarine, and one egg. This is what all of that looks like,

IMG_20160208_221354552

Then you just mix it up until it’s a dough. Now I added the red food coloring after the dough was mixed up, but I really should have added it with the wet ingredients. It would have been way easier to mix in that way. I wound up kneading it in like you would bread dough.

IMG_20160208_221908453

I think it looks sort of like fondant, it felt a bit like it. Now after mixing it all up I pulled out a tray and covered it in aluminum foil and some flour. I didn’t want it to stick to anything. I then rolled it out sort of evenly.

IMG_20160208_222352345

I then grabbed the heart cookie cutter I grabbed from the Valentine’s section at the store and cut out 12 cookies. This involved a lot of rerolling, so be prepared.

IMG_20160208_223042706

Then I put the cookies on aluminum foil lined cookie sheets, I also sprayed them with a little bit of cooking spray.

IMG_20160208_223436789

I baked six cookies at a time, mostly because I wanted to make sure I didn’t burn all the cookies. I put each tray in for five minutes and then let them cool. They baked up pretty big and very pink. Once they cooled I frosted them with frosting in a squeeze tube to get the brainy details.

_20160209_023139

You can bake these up and share them with your zombie valentine, they’ll definitely enjoy them. You can find more of my iZombie treats on Twitter, @kleffnotes, and I have iZombie videos on my kleffnotes YouTube channel. I also write for The Nerdy Girl Express and we post tons of great stuff.

Talk to ya tomorrow,

Katherine

One thought on “Brain Cookies for Your Valentine

Leave a Reply

